Thursday, October 07, 2010

NPL sticks to 20-team format

The Nigeria Premier League (NPL) Emergency Congress has resolved that it will not admit the four relegated clubs in the top-flight when elite division kicks off on October 23.
According to a communiqué released after the Premier League’s emergency congress, it was unanimously agreed that the 20-team format will remain in spite of the National Sports Commission’s earlier decision to return four relegated sides – Bayelsa United, Wikki Tourists, Gateway FC and Ranch Bees – to the top-flight.
“Accordingly, the 20 team Premier League format remains while relegation of teams also stands,” the communiqué read.
The congress also said it appreciated the intervention of the sports commission “continuous support for sustainable growth and development of the league as demonstrated by its strong commitment and efforts as governing body of sports in Nigeria in advising on positive means of resolving all issues affecting the league for the good of the game.”
The Premier League congress also extended same gratitude to the sports minister, Ibrahim Bio, who is also NSC chairman and the commission’s director-general, Patrick Ekeji.
However, the NPL congress clearly stated that it had decided to stick to the earlier “resolutions and decisions of the Ijebu-Ode Congress held on 7th August, 2010, which includes ratification of the results and final league table of the 2009/2010 NPL league season.”

No comments:

Post a Comment