Thursday, March 03, 2011

NPL in numbers

This week looks at milestone numbers in the Nigeria Premier League (NPL) in the ongoing season. 
Some very interesting stats have been put together by the actors in the Nigerian topflight so far as seen below:

13 – One-time champions, Ocean Boys, hold the honour of having played for a stretch of 13 games without a draw. The last time, they drew was on November 14, 2010 against Sharks at the Samson Siasia Stadium in Yenagoa. The game ended in a 1 – 1 draw.

12 – League leaders, Dolphins, have racked up the most wins in the ongoing campaign.

11 – Newcomers, Crown Football also known as Ajilete Valiant, have suffered the most defeats in this season’s campaign even more than Jos University Teaching Hospital (Juth) Football Club and Plateau United in first and second places from bottom respectively.

10 – In the last five games for all 20 clubs in the Premier League, only the trio of Sunshine Stars, Dolphins and Bukola Babes in that order has amassed 10 points. No wonder they are the top three on the log.

9 – In their nine games at the Liberation Stadium in Port Harcourt, Dolphins now hold the record of the longest streak of keeping a clean sheet at home in the league this season.

8 – Gombe United are yet to win in their last eight games, the longest streak for no win this season. The Desert Scorpions last won on the first day of this year against Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC).

7 – Northern giants, Kano Pillars, have failed to score in seven games this season. Pillars did not score in their games against Sunshine Stars, Ocean Boys, Dolphins, Heartland, Crown Football Club, Kwara United and Niger Tornadoes.

6 – Sunshine Stars, Bukola Babes, Warri Wolves, Kaduna United, Ocean Boys and Lobi Stars are the six sides to have conceded four goals in their home games this season.

5 – This is the number of matches that injured Bukola Babes’ goalkeeper, James Aiyeyemi, has kept in goal without conceding. A massive 450 minutes of football of clean sheet without conceding in the Nigerian elite division.

4 – Only four clubs have managed not to draw in four of their games this season. The clubs are Sunshine Stars, Plateau United, Kwara United and Crown FC.

3 – Ehiosun Ekigho of Warri Wolves and Chigozie Christopher of Ocean Boys are the only players to have recorded hat-tricks in a single game since the start of this season.

2 – So far in this season’s campaign, Kwara United are the only side to have recruited two brothers in Ogbonna and Anthony Okemiri.

1 – Kwara United’s Adekunle Muritala holds the record of having scored the fastest goal this term. His first of two goals against Sharks on February 19, 2011 at the Gateway International Stadium in Sagamu came on the first minute of his side’s three-nil triumph.

0 – Only three teams in the topflight hold the record of clean sheets at home. They are Dolphins, Enyimba and surprisingly struggling Niger Tornadoes.

1 comment: