Thursday, December 22, 2011

Ogunbote wins League Managers Award

Sunshine Stars' head coach, Gbenga Ogunbote and other top coaches in the Nigeria Premier League have won different awards in the inaugural NAIJA LEAGUE MANAGERS AWARDS.

The NAIJA LEAGUE MANAGERS AWARDS is an initiative of the leading websites on the Nigeria Premier League, and

Both websites have made significant contribution to the growth of the NPL.

Other winners include Dolphins' manager, Stanley Eguma, former Enyimba boss, Okey Emordi and former Bukola Babes coach, Festus Allen, who won two awards.

Former Super Eagles' coaches, Shuaibu Amodu and Adegboye Onigbinde, who managed different teams in the league will be inducted into the Hall of Fame category.

Speaking on behalf of the organisers, Ojeikere Aikhoje told journalists in Lagos that the awards was instituted to celebrate managers in Nigeria's top flight.

"It's our own unique way of honouring the managers who have always been ignored despite their achievements," he said. 

Aikhoje stated the awards will be presented at match venues when the NPL resumes in January.

The Winners:

∙Manager of the Year:
Gbenga Ogunbote (Sunshine Stars)

∙ Manager of NPL Champions:
Stanley Eguma (Dolphins)

∙Rookie Manager of the Year or (Best New Manager):
Festus Allen (Bukola Babes)

∙Longest Unbeaten Run:
Festus Allen (Bukola Babes)

∙Best Nigerian Manager in Continental Competition:
Okey Emordi

∙Hall Of Fame
Shaibu Amodu
Adegboye Onigbinde

No comments:

Post a Comment