Friday, June 04, 2010

NPL Places Stadia On Facility Watch List

The Nigeria Premier League (NPL) has ordered clubs using seven stadia for their league games to begin upgrade of their facilities before next season commences or face playing elsewhere.
The seven centres are the Ilorin Township Stadium, Sardauna Memorial Stadium (Gusau, Zamfara), Abubakar Umar Stadium (Gombe) and Bako Kontagora Stadium (Minna).
Others are the Akure Township Stadium, Lekan Salami Stadium (Ibadan) and Aper Aku Stadium (Makurdi).
The affected grounds are used by Kwara United, Zamfara United, Gombe United, Niger Tornadoes, Sunshine Stars, Shooting Stars Sports Club (3SC) and Lobi Stars.
It has been identified that the seven centres have poor playing turfs, which are television-unfriendly, and have forced the Premier League to insist on upgrading before the start of next season.
Some of the problems also identified at the stadia are in the dressing rooms, lighting, water systems, terraces and perimeter fences.

No comments:

Post a Comment