Monday, December 12, 2011

Rangers’ trophy drought continues

The trophy drought at Enugu Rangers continues after the side failed to win the Wafu Cup for clubs in Lome, Togo over the weekend.

The Flying Antelopes began their campaign in the semifinals of the Wafu Cup on a bright note when forward Brendan Ogbu put them ahead inside 26 minutes against Dyto of Togo on Friday.

But the Togolese side drew level before half-time before the game stretched into penalty shootout.

Alphonsus Dike’s men could only convert one of their spot kicks, as they were eliminated in the semis.

On Sunday, Rangers defeated Guinea's Horoya by 14-13 on penalties after open play ended 1-1 to win the third place match.

Rangers last won a major title in 1984 when they emerged league champions.

The Flying Antelopes have won 12 titles since they were founded in 1970. They have won six league titles, five FA Cups (now known as the Federation Cup) and one African Cup Winners Cup, which is now the Caf Confederation Cup.

No comments:

Post a Comment