Monday, October 01, 2012

LBA gets October date

It will be an October to remember for the main actors in the Nigerian top flight, as League Bloggers Awards (LBA) honours the best of the 2011/2012 season.

The 2012 edition of the LBA will take place on October 28 at the Etal Hotel in Oregun area of Lagos.

"We have set October 28 for the League Bloggers Awards which will honour the best of the Nigeria Premier League (NPL). It will hold at the Etal Hotel in Oregun, Lagos," said LBA Head, Ojeikere Aikhoje.

Aikhoje further said the categories for the LBA is now 12 after the addition of the Best Referee and Club Administrator of the Year categories.

"We've included two more categories to honour referees and club administrators as we feel some of them played key roles in the season under review. Also, we will be recognising seven corporate bodies for staying with the top flight during its trying times in the past seasons.

"Our rationale for singling out these companies for recognition has nothing to do with being nominated for any award but simply for identifying with the Nigerian top flight as a brand with potentials," Aikhoje explained.

A photo exhibition of the Nigerian top flight will also hold at the 2012 LBA.

The end-of-the-season LBA is the first edition following on the heels of successfully organising the Player and Manager of the month between January and August this year.

The LBA is the initiative of three Nigerian bloggers - (run by Aikhoje), (run by George Akpayen) and (run by China Acheru).

LBA Nominees & Categories

1. Rookie of the Year

•Solomon Jabason (Akwa United)

•Austin Amutu (Warri Wolves)

•Andrew Abalogu (ABS)

•Bright Esieme (ABS)

2. Best Goalkeeper

•Femi Thomas (Akwa United)

•Moses Ocheje (Sunshine Stars)

•Theophilus Afelokhai (Kano Pillars)

•Chigozie Agbim (Warri Wolves)

3. Best Foreigner

•Ousmane Pape Sane (Sharks/Senegal)

•Tamen Medrano (Sunshine Stars/Cameroon)

•Pierre Coly (Sharks/Senegal)

•Adama Coulibaly (Warri Wolves/Mali)

•Owusu Addae (Dolphins/Ghana)

4. Club of the Year

•Kano Pillars


•Lobi Stars

•Enugu Rangers

5. Best Designed Club Jersey

•3SC (OWU)

•Warri Wolves (NOMIS)

•Kano Pillars (Cone)

6. Highest Goal Scorer Award

•Sibi Gwar - 16 goals

7. Manager of the Year (NPL)

•Okey Emordi (Enugu Rangers)

•Dominic Iorfa (Lobi Stars)

•Baba Ganaru (Kano Pillars)

8. Manager of the Year (Africa)

•Maurice Cooreman (Warri Wolves)

•Gbenga Ogunbote (Sunshine Stars)

•Lodewijk de Kruif (Heartland)

•Stanley Eguma (Dolphins)

9. Best National Team Player

•Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers)

•Chigozie Agbim (Warri Wolves)

•Reuben Gabriel (Kano Pillars)

•Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves)

10. Player of The Year

•Reuben Gabriel (Kano Pillars)

•David Tyavkase (Lobi Stars)

•Godfrey Oboabona (Sunshine Stars)

•Sibi Gwar (Niger Tornadoes)

11. Best Referee

•Benjamin Odey

•Gabriel Adigwe

•Jelili Ogunmuyiwa

•Mohammed Sani

12. Club Administrator of the Year

•Dominic Iorfa (Lobi Stars)

•Abba Galadima (Kano Pillars)

•Amaju Pinnick (Warri Wolves)


•Dubic Beer



•Lucozade Sport


•Marina Medical Services (HMO) Limited

•Industrial and General Insurance (IGI)

1 comment:

  1. the nominees for special recognition is incomplete without Nestle Milo and Arena signages.