Wednesday, September 29, 2010

24 clubs for NPL, season kicks off Oct 23

The Nigeria Premier League (NPL) earlier rescheduled to kick off this weekend will now commence on October 23 with 24 clubs competing as against the normal 20, understands.
This decision was reached in a meeting among the National Sports Commission (NSC), the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), the Nigeria Premier League (NPL) and the Electoral Committee of the last NPL election.
The development means that the four teams relegated at the end of last season – Bayelsa United, Wikki Tourists, Gateway Football Club and Ranch Bees – will remain in Nigeria’s top-flight for the coming season.
At the same time, the participants in the meeting agreed on a new kick off date for the Premier League, can reveal.
The shift in the date from October 3 to 23 is borne out of the fact that the 24 clubs will need time to prepare for the season and conclude registration.
Present at the meeting were the Acting NFF secretary-general, Emmanuel Ikpeme; Bayelsa United chairman, Victor Baribote Rumson; NPL Acting Executive Secretary, Tunji Babalola; Alhassan Yakmut of the NSC; NPL electoral committee boss, Tony Rafua and Niger Tornadoes chairman, David Suleiman.

1 comment:

  1. naija,our thing dey always i neva see this kind thing Before