Thursday, October 28, 2010

19 clubs register for new NPL season

Nineteen out of the 20 clubs expected to take part in the 2010/2011 Nigeria Premier League (NPL) season have registered their provisional squads.
Head, Media and Publicity of the NPL, Emeka Nwani, told on Thursday that besides the 19 clubs that have completed their registration, Zamfara United are the only team remaining to follow suit.
“As I talk to you, 19 clubs have registered for the new Premier League season. The only side yet to register is Zamfara United. We are yet to hear from them as at this (Thursday) morning,” said Nwani.
Kwara United were the first club to complete the registration of their squad ahead of the new campaign in Nigeria’s top-flight.
In an attempt to reach officials of Zamfara United, called the club’s general manager but his telephone rang without response.
But head coach of the club, Bello Gusau, revealed that the secretary of the Zamfara team, Mohammed Gusau, is in Abuja to complete the registration.
Asked if the club’s late move to register was due to financial reason as it was learnt, the coach responded saying: “No, it has nothing to do with finance. We had to be sure of our players for the season. But the secretary is now in Abuja and hopefully the registration will be done this week.”

No comments:

Post a Comment